Poetry inspired by Flourish

A collaboration of sewing, photography and poetry.

Winner, Flying Arts Alliance, Qld, 2020ce
Flourish, cyanotype photograms on cotton with thread.
104cm x104cm (framed with Perspex)
Leanne Vincent, 2020.
A Lineage of Ecologies

Each sea blue petal, gathered
in honour of Detritus, was slow
stitch’d into this teeming quilt,
this bowerbird mandala,
this cathedral rose window
in the navy night,
this rock pool in kaleidoscope.
And now the Seaweeds, from
Photographs of British Algae
to whom Flourish is indebted,
wave from their 19th century pages
in a lineage of ecologies.

-Sally Denshire Continue reading “Poetry inspired by Flourish”

Seniors’ Stories Volume 6 writing competition

One hundred stories have been selected to appear in volume 6 of Seniors’ Stories to be published later this year.

Amongst those to be included is my story titled, Bent but not broken, a reflection on my mother’s legacy both personal and creative. A whole life in one thousand words or less is never adequate. So I focused on her leaving a war-ravaged Europe to live in a new country, start her own business and create beautiful, original jewellery pieces that still please.

The theme for this year’s competition was Resilience.

In 2013 the NSW Government introduced this initiative and invited holders of the NSW Seniors Card to contribute short stories to this anthology.
The series of books is a way of recognising and valuing the experiences of seniors and sharing their knowledge with younger generations.

The anthology will be launched at NSW Parliament House in October.

Not quite the shortlist – the Peter Carey Short Story Award

Every writer wants a little recognition occasionally. Hard to write a best-seller so often we enter short story competitions to hone our skills and get a little publicity.
So it was really gratifying to have one of my stories, Once were three sisters, recognised in the longlist for the 2020 Peter Carey Short Story Award. Out of over 300 entries, 18 short stories were chosen to get into the longlist. The winner will be announced on 13 June.

Peter Carey AO is an Australian novelist now living in New York who has won the Miles Franklin Award three times and won the Booker Prize twice. His received his first Booker Prize in 1988 for Oscar and Lucinda, and the second time in 2001 with True History of the Kelly Gang.

Organised every year by the Moorabool Shire Council, the short story competition is for stories of 2000–3000 words, and is open to all Australian residents. The winner receives $1000 and the runner-up receives $500, with both stories to be published in the Spring 2020 edition of Meanjin.

Other longlist entries are: https://www.booksandpublishing.com.au/articles/2020/05/14/150542/peter-carey-short-story-award-2020-longlist-announced/